7 Hatha Yoga Asanas and Introduction to Ha – tha

hatha yoga

Yoga is an essence of wellness and goodness; it’s a system of exercises practiced as part of the Hindu discipline to promote control of the body and mind. Hindu discipline aimed at training the consciousness for a state of perfect spiritual insight, and tranquility that is achieved through the three paths of ‘actions and knowledge and devotion’.
Yoga has its roots firmly attached in the Hindu culture, and originated from the wisdom of Saptharishis blessed by ‘Lord Shiva – the first yogi’. This gift from the sky was aimed at bringing great benefits to human in aspects of mind, body and soul enrichment.
But, it was lost in the ages, until early 20th century; but with the curses of modernity crippling people, more and more people are searching the secret to wellness. In the 21st century, yoga is becoming the center stage of exercises, strengthening belief system and preparing one for greater purposes.
It’s always the body malaise like ‘weakness, pain, lacking in stamina, and laziness’ that cease our body from performing to its fullest potential. Hatha Yoga asanas opens up your body, calms your mind and strengthen your soul. It’s the best Yogistic practice and exercise to introspect one’s strength and weakness.

Briefing about Hatha Yoga :

Discover the ‘Ha’ and ‘Tha’ in us…

Hatha yoga is the form of yoga, which derived its name from ‘ha and tha’; so, basically it’s an addition of two words. Here, ‘Ha’ means the vitality of our solar system the ‘Sun’ and ‘Tha’ means the serene illumination of ‘Moon’. It’s believed in every human the energy of ‘Sun and Moon’ is present, and for wellness we need to balance these energies.
Hatha Yoga, is the art of holistic practice, which balance the energies of ‘Sun and Moon’ in us. The energy of ‘Sun’ gives vitality to our body, and the energy of ‘Moon’ gives ability to our mind to concentrate. Thus, together they achieve the right spirit for our soul, and get us ready for meditation or higher purpose of life.
As it balances the energies of ‘Sun and Moon’, it focuses on balancing the masculine and feminine energies in our body. Thus, it aims to achieve complete inner peace, harmony and happiness from within.
Benefits of hatha yoga cannot be measured or analyzed, without practicing it. For practicing this physical branch of yoga, one should take guidance of master yogi. At ‘Diya Yoga’ we have developed easy learning techniques to understand the asanas and aspects of hatha yoga. Further, our techniques to learn yoga have no connections or obligations of religion or rituals.

Five Types of Hatha Yoga Asanas :

1. Standing postures

2. Siting Poses

3. Resting Positions

4. Backbends Attributes

5. Balancing Postures

These, 5 types or say categories of hatha yoga asanas will help your body channelize its energies to attain beyond limit potential.
There are 7 types of hatha yoga asanas, and they all are directed towards attainment of some purpose of life.

7 Hatha Yoga Asanas :

1. Vrikshasana (Tree Pose)

2. Tadasana (Mountain Pose)

3. Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward-Facing Dog Pose)

4. Baddha Konasana (Cobbler Pose)

5. Paschimottanasana (Seated Forward Bend Pose)

6. Sethu Bandhasana (Bridge Pose)

7. Balasana (Child Pose)

You can read more about the asanas, in our next blog post…
Until then, for winter do wellness yoga…